Posted 3 years ago by System Admin / 861 views

President Donald Trump (R) won the presidential election in Iowa on November 3, 2020. Iowa was one of 13 battleground states.

The first presidential nominating event of the 2020 election cycle took place in Iowa on February 3, 2020. Both the Democratic and Republican parties held caucuses. Given its first-in-the-nation status, Iowa received increased attention from both campaigning candidates and the media.

Trump won the Republican caucus, earning 97 percent of the vote. Trump won 39 delegates and former Gov. Bill Weld won one.[1]

The results of the Iowa Democratic caucuses were initially delayed due to problems with a new mobile application developed for the caucuses and tabulation errors. Following a partial recanvass and recount, the Iowa Democratic Party projected on February 27, 2020, that former Mayor Pete Buttigieg would receive 14 pledged delegates, Sen. Bernie Sanders 12, Sen. Elizabeth Warren 8, former Vice President Joe Biden 6, and Sen. Amy Klobuchar 1.[2][3]

Since 1976, only one Democrat or Republican has finished outside of the top three candidates in Iowa—Sen. John McCain (R) in 2008—and went on to win the party’s nomination.[4][5]

Iowa held a general election for president of the United States on November 3, 2020, along with 49 other states and the District of Columbia. In the last 10 presidential elections, the Democratic candidate won the state in six elections and the Republican candidate won the state four times. Over those 10 elections, Iowa has voted for the eventual winner eight times.[6]

  • Listing ID: 462
Contact details

Iowa,Midwest Region #7

Contact this listing owner